Skip to content
Bpanda
English
Esc
↑↓navigate↵open⌘Jpreview
On this page

Editing a Diagram

Change and extend a process diagram created in the Modeler as a draft and submit it as a new process revision.

As a Designer, you can use the integrated Modeler to edit process diagrams that were created with the Modeler.

Prerequisites

You are a Designer or BPM Manager. As a Process Owner without one of these roles, you can also open the draft, but you can only change the name and description of the process, attachments and linked architecture elements in it — not the diagram.

You have opened the process page of a process whose process diagram was created in the Modeler. The ⋮ Edit Version as Draft command is available.

Context

You can edit a process diagram created in the Modeler, regardless of whether it is currently a revision or a published version. You always work in a draft: ⋮ Edit Version as Draft creates one, ⋮ Revise Version opens an existing one.

The edited process diagram can be saved as a draft of a process and submitted in the Process Space as a process version (revision).

It can also be saved as a graphic so that you can insert it into other documents.

As a BPMN file, you can transfer the diagram to another modeling tool, for example to link it there with data and software systems. Note: A diagram that you import into the Process Space as a BPMN file can no longer be edited in the Modeler.

The working areas of the Modeler are described in Creating a Diagram.

Until you submit the draft as a process version (revision), only its Participants can see it.

The draft is saved automatically on an ongoing basis; Last saved is shown at the top.

If another participant is currently working on the draft, you can take over the editing with Take Over Editing.

How to Proceed

  1. On the process page of a process diagram that was created in the Modeler, click ⋮ Edit Version as Draft.

    A note appears.

  2. To use the current process version as a draft, click OK.

    The integrated Modeler appears.

  3. To add another element, click a diagram node and use the context menu, or click a symbol in the left toolbar and drag it to a free position.

    From the context menu, the element is created with a connection; from the toolbar, without one.

  4. To connect two elements, you have two options:

    • Click the first element, click the connection symbol in the context menu and drag the connection to the second element.
    • Click the connection symbol in the left toolbar and then click the two elements one after the other.

    The connection between the elements is created.

  5. To rename an element, change its name under Properties in the Name input field.

  6. To change the description of an element, make the change in the Description input field.

  7. To change the type of an element, click Change Type in the context menu and select the type of the element.

    Individual properties of the element relating to the previous type are lost.

  8. To save the diagram, click Save Draft in the upper toolbar.

    The draft is saved with the entered name. It appears on the Drafts page.

  9. To save the diagram as a graphic or BPMN file, click Save as BPMN File, Save as PNG Graphic File or Save as SVG Graphic File in the Export submenu in the upper toolbar.

    The draft is saved in the default directory for downloads.

  10. To submit the diagram as a process revision, click Submit at the top.

    The Submit as Process Revision dialog appears.

  11. To submit the diagram as a process version (revision), click OK.

    The draft is submitted as a process revision. This process revision can be edited as a draft again.

    It is assigned to the process automatically by means of an ID.

Was this page helpful?