---
title: Cancelling a work step
description: >-
  Permanently cancel a work step that is not required in this job — with a
  reason in the job log.
search:
  tags:
    - anleitung
    - job
    - arbeitsschritt
    - abbrechen
    - ueberspringen
---
If, in your view, a work step is not required in this job or not required at all, you can cancel it.

## Prerequisites [#prerequisites]

You have selected a work step for execution.

## Context [#context]

You should always state the reasons for the cancellation in detail as a message in the job log.

Instead of cancelling it yourself, you can pass the work step on to another responsible person. They then decide whether the step is cancelled.

## How to proceed [#how-to-proceed]

- To permanently cancel an unnecessary work step after you have taken it over, click the menu icon at the bottom of the job log and select **Cancel step**.

  The work step is logged as cancelled.

See also: [Pass on responsibility](/en/jobs/assigning-jobs/pass-on-responsibility)
