---
title: Questions from Process Owners and Process Contributors
description: >-
  What tasks Process Owners and Process Contributors have, how to add users with
  roles to a process, set the visibility, update processes and attach documents
  or videos.
search:
  tags:
    - faq
    - fragen
    - antworten
    - prozessverantwortlicher
    - prozessmitwirkender
    - sichtbarkeit
    - anhang
    - video
    - dokument
    - gueltigkeit
---
As an expert, the **Process Owner** is responsible for the content of a process. They are the contact person for all **Process Users** and have all permissions for the process they are responsible for.

A **Process Contributor** can be assigned to provide technical support to the **Process Owner**.

## I have become a Process Owner, what are my tasks? [#i-have-become-a-process-owner-what-are-my-tasks]

The **BPM Manager** assigns you to a process as the **Process Owner** if you are responsible for that process. For a new process, the **Designer** can also do this in the first draft; you are then entered as the Process Owner immediately after submission.

What this role is allowed to do is described in [Roles and permissions](/en/getting-started/roles-and-authorizations).

## I am a Process Contributor, what can I do? [#i-am-a-process-contributor-what-can-i-do]

The **BPM Manager** or the **Process Owner** assigns **Process Contributors** to a process. Above all, **Process Contributors** provide technical support in terms of content for the **Process Owner**.

As a **Process Contributor**, you can ensure that there is sufficient, accurate and up-to-date information about the process by adding attachments (links, documents, video links) to the process and keeping them up to date.

## As a Process Owner, how can I add users with specific roles to a process? [#as-a-process-owner-how-can-i-add-users-with-specific-roles-to-a-process]

As a **Process Owner**, you can add users to a process in various roles.

- As **Process Participants**, the users see the currently valid version of the processes they have been involved in under **Relevant Processes** and are notified automatically of any changes. This makes it clearer to **Process Participants** which processes are relevant to them.
- As **Process Contributors**, the users can see all versions of the processes they have been assigned to. They see the processes under **Relevant Processes** and are notified automatically of any changes. They can also add attachments.

As a **Process Owner**, you can also add additional **Process Owners** and block users for certain processes.

To add users with specific roles, select ⋮ **Roles and Permissions** on the process page. A dialog appears. Select whether you want to add **Members** or **Groups**. Activate the selection fields of the users or groups that are to be added to the respective role. To complete the addition, click **Apply selection**. See [Appointing a Process Owner](/en/processes/process-roles/appointing-a-process-owner) and [Appointing Process Contributors and Process Participants](/en/processes/process-roles/appointing-process-collaborators-and-participants).

When you create a review, you are initially the **Review Owner** yourself and can appoint additional or different ones. The **Review Owner** is the contact person for all **Review Participants**, has all permissions for the review they are responsible for and decides on the release when the review is completed. The released revision is then published by the **Process Owner** or a **BPM Manager**.

## How can I update my processes? [#how-can-i-update-my-processes]

The ways into the Process Space are described in [Questions from Designers](/en/faqs/faq-process-designers).

**Designers** and **BPM Managers** create drafts. **Process Owners** can also create a draft, but in it they can only maintain the name, description, attachments and architecture relations. They cannot adapt the diagram.

As a **Process Owner**, you are also responsible for updating the processes. This is how you update a process: you provide an updated process version (revision). It goes through the release process. At the end, it is released and published with a validity period. Without a new revision, you can create a draft to maintain process properties for the EAM analyses, the name, description, attachments and architecture relations.

You update a process from a modeling tool by importing the modified version again as a BPMN file. Processes from Innovator are uploaded with the Innovator Connector; it assigns the new version to its predecessor automatically.

## As a Process Owner, how do I set the visibility of my process? [#as-a-process-owner-how-do-i-set-the-visibility-of-my-process]

As a **Process Owner**, you block individual users or groups for a process; the process is then not visible to them. The procedure is described in [Appointing Process Contributors and Process Participants](/en/processes/process-roles/appointing-process-collaborators-and-participants) — ⋮ **Roles and Permissions**, **Blocked users** section.

## How can I delete or remove processes? [#how-can-i-delete-or-remove-processes]

For reasons of audit compliance, processes **cannot** be deleted or removed. To prevent processes from appearing, you can hide them.

See also: [Hide or show processes](/en/processes/manage-processes/hide-show-processes)

## How can I add a document to a process? [#how-can-i-add-a-document-to-a-process]

As a **Process Owner** and **Process Contributor**, you can add documents up to a size of 50 MB to a process.

To open the dialog for adding a document, click the plus icon in the **Attachments** section of the **Overview** tab on the process page and select **Documents**, **Link** or **Video**.

The standard dialog for opening a file appears. Select the file. The document is shown in a list and can be supplemented with a **description**. To complete the addition, click **Save**.

You can remove the document again in the same dialog using the remove icon.

The document is displayed in the **Attachments** section. You can call up the description via ⋮.

## How and when do I find out that a published process is becoming or has become invalid? [#how-and-when-do-i-find-out-that-a-published-process-is-becoming-or-has-become-invalid]

As long as there is no successor version, you find out about it as a **Process Owner** in three ways. As early as six weeks before expiry, the **Overview** tab of the process page shows the note "This version will expire …". Also as early as six weeks beforehand, the task "The version of your process '<Name>' is expiring" appears under **My Tasks**, for you and for the **BPM Managers**. Around four weeks before expiry, you also receive the notification "The process '<Name>', revision <No.>, will expire on <Date>." It is repeated weekly until expiry and is also included in the daily e-mail summary (see [When you receive which notification](/en/getting-started/notifications/which-notification-when)).

Once the validity has expired, the task reads "The version of your process '<Name>' has expired. Please provide a new process version". See [When you receive which task](/en/getting-started/tasks/which-task-when#process-validity).

## How can I add an explanatory video to a process? [#how-can-i-add-an-explanatory-video-to-a-process]

As a **Process Owner** and **Process Contributor**, you can add links to videos to a process, for example to provide all users with an explanatory video.

To add a link to a video to a process, you need the link to the video provided by the respective video platform (YouTube or Vimeo). Copy the video link there so that you can then insert it in the URL field.

To open the dialog for inserting a video link, click the plus icon in the **Attachments** section of the **Overview** tab on the process page and select **Documents**, **Link** or **Video**.

A dialog appears in which you can insert the video link in the URL field. To add the video link to the process, click **Add**. The video is shown in a list and can be supplemented with a **description**. To complete the addition, click **Save**.

You can remove the link in the same dialog using the remove icon.

The link has been created and the video is displayed in the **Attachments** section. You can call up the description via ⋮.
